Skip to navigation Skip to main content


Following one year of intensive collaboration between the university partners, Una Europa was formally established as a non-profit association under Belgian law (vzw) in Krakow on 1 February 2019.

Una Europa is governed by its General Assembly, Executive Committee and Board of Directors, with support from the Una Europa Association.

Una Europa’s 1Europe project is managed by a Project Steering Committee.

Una Europa Association

The Association is based in Brussels and was created to ensure the success and sustainability of the alliance. It is responsible for:

  • pursuing integrated cooperation between its university partners in high-quality education research, and services to society
  • creating a culture of excellence in education and research and fostering best practices
  • contributing to the development of the European Higher Education Area and the European Research Area.

General Assembly

The General Assembly consists of the 11 partner universities and eight university-related members represented by their Rectors or Presidents. The General Assembly is the highest decision-making body for Una Europa.

The eight university-related members are:

  • Ernst-Reuter-Gesellschaft der Freunde, Förderer und Ehemaligen der Freien Universität Berlin e.V.
  • Fondazione Alma Mater
  • Jagiellońskie Centrum Innowacji Sp. z o.o.
  • Edinburgh Innovations Limited
  • Associatie KU Leuven vzw
  • Fundación Complutense
  • L’Association des Amis de l’Université Paris1 Panthéon-Sorbonne
  • Helsinki Think Company

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors consists of the 11 partners’ Vice-Rectors and is responsible for the management oversight of Una Europa vzw. The Board appoints its own President, Treasurer and Secretary-General.

1Europe Executive Committee
The Executive Committee is responsible for the management of the 1Europe project. The members of the Executive Committee are the same as the Board of Directors, in order to ensure synergies between management of the three-year project and the longer-term goals of Una Europa.

External Advisory Board

Una Europa has established an External Advisory Board to advise on the strategic orientations of the alliance. The General Assembly designates the members of the Advisory Board, which includes representatives from the socio-economic and academic world selected in light of their intellectual, societal or scientific influence or merits.

Current members:

  • Elżbieta Bieńkowska - Former European Commissioner for Single Market, Industry & Entrepreneurship
  • Prof. Jes Broeng - Director, DTU Entrepreneurship
  • Prof. Felix Dapare Dakora – President, African Academy of Sciences
  • Michael Gaebel - Director of Higher Education Policy, European University Association
  • Dr. Alicia Greated – CEO, UK Knowledge Transfer Network
  • Rikka Joukio - Senior Vice-President for Climate and Circular Economy, Metsä Group
  • Prof. Antonio Loprieno – President, Jacobs University Bremen
  • Prof. Carel Stolker - Former Rector Magnificus & Chairman of the Executive Board/Professor Emeritus Private Law, Universiteit Leiden
  • Prof. Milena Žic Fuchs - University of Zagreb, Member of the ERC Scientific Council